Skip to content
Skip to navigation menu


Duty Solicitors

Stage 1 membership of the Law Society’s Criminal Litigation Accreditation Scheme (CLAS) is required by the Legal Services Commission (LSC) for inclusion on the duty solicitor scheme for police stations and magistrates courts.

Solicitors must obtain two separate qualifications to satisfy the Law Society of their suitability to become a member of the CLAS. These are the Police Station Qualification (PSQ) and the Magistrates Court Qualification (MCQ).

Solicitors who successfully completed the Police Station Representatives Accreditation Scheme assessments prior to qualification as a solicitor may apply to the Law Society for exemption from the PSQ assessments.

Barristers cannot become members of CLAS as this is only available to solicitors. If you are a barrister wishing to join a duty solicitor scheme, you need only complete Police Station Accreditation (PSA) and then apply to the LSC for inclusion on a rota. The LSC will accept your professional qualification as a barrister plus PSA for inclusion on a duty solicitor rota.

Further Information

See Also: